Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
Arphahat posted a review of Pacific Rim: Uprising

“The previews for the original Pacific Rim made it look dull to me, and when I ended up finally watching it, I did find it to be dull. However, the previews for Pacific Rim: Uprising made it look like it could be a fun, exciting movie, so I figured it might be decent. But, no, it was dull, like the f” read more

2 months, 4 weeks ago
Arphahat posted a review of Tomb Raider (2018)

“OK origin story type movie. I wanted Lara to be a stronger character, though, as it felt that she was relying on others way more than I'd expect. Exciting start, but a lot of pointless buildup before we finally get to the real meat of the movie. I found myself checking my watch several times, which ” read more

3 months ago

“This was probably the best translation from the book that can be expected. The book was trippy, with a little bit of science and a whole lot of magic, and this movie followed suit. Impressive visuals helped counter the rushed pace and confusing story. If you haven't read the book, I would not recomm” read more

3 months, 1 week ago
Arphahat posted a review of Annihilation

“A great sci-fi story that doesn't spell everything out. It has a gentle horror feeling throughout, where the antagonist isn't a villain, or even thinking being, perhaps. In fact, no malicious intent, just matter-of-fact is fresh. Weird and enjoyable, I will probably want to go see this one again. 8” read more

3 months, 3 weeks ago
Arphahat posted a review of Winchester (2018)

“A problem I have with a lot of horror movies is inconsistency of their idea, or explanations that don't really make sense with the rest of the story. Winchester, however, did a great job at remaining consistent with their story.

It relied on a number of jump scares, which were well done. ” read more

4 months ago

“A fun fairy tale. Only big issue I had with it was her quickness to embrace the monster for apparently no reason when first learning of it after it attacked someone. Also, this could have been a PG or PG-13 film with some editing and it might have fit better with younger kids who might not care that” read more

4 months, 2 weeks ago

“A mediocre end to a mediocre series. There was such a long pause between this movie and the second that I didn't recall all of the characters, but it seemed that most were extra, anyways. Nonsensical decisions by the characters and a confusing disease I didn't remember much about, other than it kind” read more

4 months, 2 weeks ago
Arphahat posted a review of Darkest Hour (2017)

“An interesting tale of Churchill becoming Prime Minister and his securing of his position within the first month. It was difficult to understand Churchill at a number of points, which I get that he talked like that, but it makes it difficult to understand what is going on. Also, the movie wanders a” read more

5 months, 1 week ago

“Surprising hilarious sequel to the original Jumanji. This time, Jumanji takes the form of a video game and is explained (well enough) in the movie. I enjoyed it from beginning to end, more than the original. The characters in the game being out of sync with the players controlling them may be clich” read more

5 months, 2 weeks ago
Arphahat posted a review of The Greatest Showman

“A surprise musical, as I don't recall any of the previews indicating as such. Music was OK, but not memorable. Story was predictable and likely glossed over many details. Entertaining, but I found myself bored at parts. 6/10” read more

5 months, 2 weeks ago

“Boring. That is the one-word answer to summarize this movie. The protagonist was a weirdo and unrelatable and the pacing between scenes of interest dragged. Intentions of the main character were also questionable. Well, whatever, I enjoyed the popcorn bucket, so there's that, I guess. 6/10” read more

6 months, 3 weeks ago
Arphahat posted a review of Blade Runner 2049

“This was a fun, interesting story revisiting the world of Bladerunner full of impressive imagery and special effects, marred by a number of scenarios that didn't have a satisfactory reason behind them and an unsatisfying conclusion. 7/10

read more

8 months, 1 week ago
Arphahat posted a review of The Fifth Element

“When I first saw this one in theaters, back in 1997, I thought it was great, except for the annoying DJ played by Chris Tucker. I hated that character. So, imagine my surprise when, this time, I found the movie to be pretty meh, but the DJ character was OK.

Generic, poorly thought out acti” read more

8 months, 1 week ago
Arphahat posted a review of Rio Bravo (1959)

“A classic western from 1959 about a murderer being held in a small town until the marshal could come collect him and the gang that wants to free him.

It is clearly a movie from a different era, where even a western needed to have a musical number shoved into it. Regardless, it was enjoyab” read more

8 months, 2 weeks ago
Arphahat posted a review of Flatliners (2017)

“This was a remake of a movie from 1990 that I only thought was OK. Hopefully, I thought, they will add to the original story and improve upon it. Instead, they just retold the original story with new characters.

The concept and story was fine for a movie in 1990, but didn't really work fo” read more

8 months, 3 weeks ago
Arphahat posted a review of American Made (2017)

“Our protagonist is a criminal, and one that made a big, negative impact by transporting drugs, guns, and contras. Yet, the character is separated from these actions and is presented as a decent, likable family man. Despite myself, I found that I was rooting for his criminal exploits to succeed. In t” read more

8 months, 3 weeks ago

“This movie won the Academy Award for cinematography and it shows. The scenery of the French Riviera is shown throughout and is done beautifully.

This was a romantic thriller by Alfred Hitchcock. It was amusing enough, but not the caliber of movie that I normally associate with Hitchcock. <” read more

8 months, 3 weeks ago

“What an epic start to a great movie. It reminded me of the old school James Bond openings, but with modern effects and action. Really, the entirety of the Kingsman movies are the updated Roger Moore era James Bond films and I couldn't be happier. I definitely enjoy the Daniel Craig Bond, but there i” read more

8 months, 4 weeks ago
Arphahat posted a review of Friend Request

“What can be said about this movie? Though it was only 92 minutes, it felt like an eternity. If I was dying, I would watch this movie over and over, filling every minute of my day with it, like Dunbar from Catch-22, making my last moments seemingly last forever. The pacing was poor, with some element” read more

8 months, 4 weeks ago
Arphahat posted a review of Doctor Zhivago (1965)

“This was a fantastic depiction of the events of the Russian Revolution as seen from the eyes of the people affected by it. In short, Dr. Zhivago got a pretty raw deal, as well as most of the Russians. It is concerning how quickly even a little bit of power goes to the head of those who wield it.
read more

9 months ago
Arphahat posted a review of Mother!

“This was super weird. Trailers made me think it was a horror movie, and it kind of feels like one at points, but I don't think it really is. Tons of symbolism, and clearly an allegory, but parts of the symbolism were hard to fit with the characters. At least it was thought provoking, but don't go ex” read more

9 months ago
Arphahat posted a review of Roman Holiday (1953)

“A princess rebels and we get to see her day covertly touring the city of Rome. It had its share of comedy, and the interaction of the characters kept it entertaining throughout. If modern "romantic comedies" were more in this style, I think I'd be more inclined to watch them. I also appreciate the r” read more

9 months, 1 week ago
Arphahat posted a review of IT (2017)

“So, the clown is creepy, and there are some scenes that are intense, but I never really felt it was that scary. It also suffered from the typical horror movie problem of wondering why the behavior of the monster changes. Obviously, the easy answer is because the script calls for it, but it lacks in” read more

9 months, 1 week ago

“Wow, so amazingly painful, right from the start. Aggravating and annoying behavior masquerading as "comedy". Terrible.” read more

1 year, 3 months ago
Arphahat posted a review of Vacation

“Well, they tried, but the jokes fell short and felt forced. There were a couple of amusing spots, but not enough to make it worth watching. They probably could have done better by editing out the R-rated material and having expanded it to include a larger audience, since maybe some of the jokes woul” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
Arphahat posted a review of Ouija (2014)

“Wow, that was an hour and a half I'll never get back. Dumb from the beginning, I knew it wasn't going to get better when I laughed out loud at the ridiculous and predictable first death. Disjointed, boring, confusing. I found myself wondering if I should make myself finish watching, or just give ” read more

2 years, 2 months ago

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block