Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (29) - Games (2)

Pacific Rim: Uprising review

Posted : 4 months ago on 23 March 2018 01:39 (A review of Pacific Rim: Uprising)

The previews for the original Pacific Rim made it look dull to me, and when I ended up finally watching it, I did find it to be dull. However, the previews for Pacific Rim: Uprising made it look like it could be a fun, exciting movie, so I figured it might be decent. But, no, it was dull, like the first one.

The most frustrating part of this to me is that these robots, the Jaegers, have been determined to be the best defense against the monsters, yet they are absolutely terrible in every battle with them. They excel at taking a beating and knocking down all the buildings in a city, but the fighting part is so one sided it is laughable. At least give us some battles where the Jaeger are actually as effective as they are claimed to be, so we can see them kicking butt and be able to root for them. 6/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Tomb Raider (2018) review

Posted : 4 months, 1 week ago on 16 March 2018 01:38 (A review of Tomb Raider (2018))

OK origin story type movie. I wanted Lara to be a stronger character, though, as it felt that she was relying on others way more than I'd expect. Exciting start, but a lot of pointless buildup before we finally get to the real meat of the movie. I found myself checking my watch several times, which is a sign that the movie could have been shorter. Not terrible, but I don't think I need to see this one again. 6/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A Wrinkle in Time (2018) review

Posted : 4 months, 2 weeks ago on 9 March 2018 03:00 (A review of A Wrinkle in Time (2018))

This was probably the best translation from the book that can be expected. The book was trippy, with a little bit of science and a whole lot of magic, and this movie followed suit. Impressive visuals helped counter the rushed pace and confusing story. If you haven't read the book, I would not recommend seeing this movie, since it felt like it was a companion to the book, relying on the audience to understand things that were unexplained. Parts were a bit cringey, but it was an overall enjoyable experience. 7/10



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Annihilation review

Posted : 4 months, 3 weeks ago on 26 February 2018 12:03 (A review of Annihilation)

A great sci-fi story that doesn't spell everything out. It has a gentle horror feeling throughout, where the antagonist isn't a villain, or even thinking being, perhaps. In fact, no malicious intent, just matter-of-fact is fresh. Weird and enjoyable, I will probably want to go see this one again. 8/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Winchester review

Posted : 5 months ago on 18 February 2018 04:03 (A review of Winchester)

A problem I have with a lot of horror movies is inconsistency of their idea, or explanations that don't really make sense with the rest of the story. Winchester, however, did a great job at remaining consistent with their story.

It relied on a number of jump scares, which were well done. The story was interesting and bizarre and was at least partially based on real people. Not terribly scary, but a good deal of suspenseful horror. 7/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Shape of Water (2017) review

Posted : 5 months, 2 weeks ago on 4 February 2018 11:48 (A review of The Shape of Water (2017))

A fun fairy tale. Only big issue I had with it was her quickness to embrace the monster for apparently no reason when first learning of it after it attacked someone. Also, this could have been a PG or PG-13 film with some editing and it might have fit better with younger kids who might not care that she'd have no motivation to become friends with the monster. Anyhow, worth it. 7/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Maze Runner: The Death Cure (2018) review

Posted : 5 months, 2 weeks ago on 3 February 2018 10:48 (A review of Maze Runner: The Death Cure (2018))

A mediocre end to a mediocre series. There was such a long pause between this movie and the second that I didn't recall all of the characters, but it seemed that most were extra, anyways. Nonsensical decisions by the characters and a confusing disease I didn't remember much about, other than it kinda made zombies. Everyone got burnt out on apocalypse movies when this series put out the second, so I understand the delay, but it hurt the story as the previous movie wasn't really good enough to bother watching a second time.

On another note, this series missed out on an opportunity to make the two sides of this both be good guys, but with different views of what that means. Instead, the antagonists are clearly bad, but the movie only tries to pretend otherwise at a couple of points. So, Teresa being lured to them wasn't convincing.

That said, it had a strong start and the action was decent. However, I ended up being bored at different points. If you've seen the first two, you might as well, but if you've not, I wouldn't bother getting caught up on them to see this. 6/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Darkest Hour (2017) review

Posted : 6 months, 1 week ago on 10 January 2018 05:04 (A review of Darkest Hour (2017))

An interesting tale of Churchill becoming Prime Minister and his securing of his position within the first month. It was difficult to understand Churchill at a number of points, which I get that he talked like that, but it makes it difficult to understand what is going on. Also, the movie wanders at points, focusing on characters that don't really have a role in the movie, like his assistant. Also, too much focus is put on times when nothing is happening, and not enough on significant things, like when people are changing their mind about things for unknown reasons.

Still, it was worth a watch for the history. The tone was great, and the speeches powerful and well done. 6/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle (2017) review

Posted : 6 months, 2 weeks ago on 3 January 2018 09:32 (A review of Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle (2017))

Surprising hilarious sequel to the original Jumanji. This time, Jumanji takes the form of a video game and is explained (well enough) in the movie. I enjoyed it from beginning to end, more than the original. The characters in the game being out of sync with the players controlling them may be cliche, but it was done well by all the actors and was just plain out funny. 8/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Greatest Showman review

Posted : 6 months, 3 weeks ago on 1 January 2018 11:32 (A review of The Greatest Showman)

A surprise musical, as I don't recall any of the previews indicating as such. Music was OK, but not memorable. Story was predictable and likely glossed over many details. Entertaining, but I found myself bored at parts. 6/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 4 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block