Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (25) - Games (2)

Winchester review

Posted : 2 days, 15 hours ago on 18 February 2018 04:03 (A review of Winchester)

A problem I have with a lot of horror movies is inconsistency of their idea, or explanations that don't really make sense with the rest of the story. Winchester, however, did a great job at remaining consistent with their story.

It relied on a number of jump scares, which were well done. The story was interesting and bizarre and was at least partially based on real people. Not terribly scary, but a good deal of suspenseful horror. 7/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Shape of Water review

Posted : 2 weeks, 1 day ago on 4 February 2018 11:48 (A review of The Shape of Water)

A fun fairy tale. Only big issue I had with it was her quickness to embrace the monster for apparently no reason when first learning of it after it attacked someone. Also, this could have been a PG or PG-13 film with some editing and it might have fit better with younger kids who might not care that she'd have no motivation to become friends with the monster. Anyhow, worth it. 7/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Maze Runner: The Death Cure review

Posted : 2 weeks, 2 days ago on 3 February 2018 10:48 (A review of Maze Runner: The Death Cure)

A mediocre end to a mediocre series. There was such a long pause between this movie and the second that I didn't recall all of the characters, but it seemed that most were extra, anyways. Nonsensical decisions by the characters and a confusing disease I didn't remember much about, other than it kinda made zombies. Everyone got burnt out on apocalypse movies when this series put out the second, so I understand the delay, but it hurt the story as the previous movie wasn't really good enough to bother watching a second time.

On another note, this series missed out on an opportunity to make the two sides of this both be good guys, but with different views of what that means. Instead, the antagonists are clearly bad, but the movie only tries to pretend otherwise at a couple of points. So, Teresa being lured to them wasn't convincing.

That said, it had a strong start and the action was decent. However, I ended up being bored at different points. If you've seen the first two, you might as well, but if you've not, I wouldn't bother getting caught up on them to see this. 6/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Darkest Hour review

Posted : 1 month, 1 week ago on 10 January 2018 05:04 (A review of Darkest Hour)

An interesting tale of Churchill becoming Prime Minister and his securing of his position within the first month. It was difficult to understand Churchill at a number of points, which I get that he talked like that, but it makes it difficult to understand what is going on. Also, the movie wanders at points, focusing on characters that don't really have a role in the movie, like his assistant. Also, too much focus is put on times when nothing is happening, and not enough on significant things, like when people are changing their mind about things for unknown reasons.

Still, it was worth a watch for the history. The tone was great, and the speeches powerful and well done. 6/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle review

Posted : 1 month, 2 weeks ago on 3 January 2018 09:32 (A review of Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle)

Surprising hilarious sequel to the original Jumanji. This time, Jumanji takes the form of a video game and is explained (well enough) in the movie. I enjoyed it from beginning to end, more than the original. The characters in the game being out of sync with the players controlling them may be cliche, but it was done well by all the actors and was just plain out funny. 8/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Greatest Showman review

Posted : 1 month, 2 weeks ago on 1 January 2018 11:32 (A review of The Greatest Showman)

A surprise musical, as I don't recall any of the previews indicating as such. Music was OK, but not memorable. Story was predictable and likely glossed over many details. Entertaining, but I found myself bored at parts. 6/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Roman J. Israel, Esq. review

Posted : 2 months, 3 weeks ago on 26 November 2017 11:10 (A review of Roman J. Israel, Esq.)

Boring. That is the one-word answer to summarize this movie. The protagonist was a weirdo and unrelatable and the pacing between scenes of interest dragged. Intentions of the main character were also questionable. Well, whatever, I enjoyed the popcorn bucket, so there's that, I guess. 6/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Blade Runner 2049 review

Posted : 4 months, 1 week ago on 10 October 2017 12:37 (A review of Blade Runner 2049)

This was a fun, interesting story revisiting the world of Bladerunner full of impressive imagery and special effects, marred by a number of scenarios that didn't have a satisfactory reason behind them and an unsatisfying conclusion. 7/10



0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Fifth Element review

Posted : 4 months, 2 weeks ago on 9 October 2017 01:52 (A review of The Fifth Element)

When I first saw this one in theaters, back in 1997, I thought it was great, except for the annoying DJ played by Chris Tucker. I hated that character. So, imagine my surprise when, this time, I found the movie to be pretty meh, but the DJ character was OK.

Generic, poorly thought out action flick, with weak action and rubber-masked aliens. The reasons why things are happening and the motivations of the villains are confusing. Just a bunch of poorly thought out events happening one after another. 6/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Rio Bravo review

Posted : 4 months, 3 weeks ago on 1 October 2017 11:49 (A review of Rio Bravo)

A classic western from 1959 about a murderer being held in a small town until the marshal could come collect him and the gang that wants to free him.

It is clearly a movie from a different era, where even a western needed to have a musical number shoved into it. Regardless, it was enjoyable, if somewhat long.

The characters were clever and the interactions between them were engaging and interesting. It had sufficient action via shoot-em-ups as well as comedy that didn't feel forced. The love interest felt a bit tacked on, but not terribly so.

I also enjoyed that the protagonists weren't untouchable; they made mistakes and sometimes the bad guys got the jump on them or outsmarted them.

Why it was called Rio Bravo, "Brave River," is beyond me. Maybe it just sounded sufficiently "western" at the time. Always nice to see some of these old ones on the big screen. 7/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block